Monday, July 1, 2013

El primera carta de Perú

¡HOLA!
how is every body doing? I love you a bunch and feel super sad that I can´t go on the canyoneering trip. those are fun. pack lots of water, your emergency space blanket, and watch out for snakes and poison Ivy. haha 

So I am in tumbes which is a 6 ish hour bus ride from piura. its a large coastal town, but I have in reality only seen the coast one time since I have been here and that was in the few minutes that i wasn't sleeping.  The scenery here is gorgeous, and although there's a lot of brown its pretty green. the houses are small, but are comfortable. they are made of bamboo and a dirt, donkey poop, and straw like plant mixture which is packed in between the bamboo frames. it's interesting and different and I love it. 

I don´t think the pictures I have are going to send sorry um 

The food is different. every dish has rice and almost every dish had chicken. but today we had a omelet like patty with shrimp on top of our rice and also beans. beans and flour are sort of commodities here. also they use every part of the chicken. I have not tried but would like to try fried chicken legs. and also a soup called cou cou. i think that's how you spell it. it is a delicacy of cow stomach and other things. one of the north american missionaries said it tastes like poop. but I want to try it. they have a lot of aji which is just a type of pepper. um but i really like the crema that one of the families made us. it was crackers with milk and lemon juice and oil and the aji pepper. it was awesome we ate it over a potato (and they peel their boiled potatoes it was interesting. 

today I changed all my money to soles. and the conversion is awesome I got 300 soles for 120 dollars which is about half our total monthly budget. one of my most favorite things are the mototaxis they're everywhere. they are the primary way for transportation and basically, its a tricycle motorcycle with a small cab. they're super funny and the drivers all drive around saying moto moto.

um I can´t understand a lot of what people say. its probably because they speak a funny type of spanish here called jarga. i think its basically slang. which is super tough to understand especially the little kids. they are so hard to understand.
so in perú there really isn´t anything that resembles a hot shower. which is good cause it saves on costs, but its a little cold in the morning. although I think that is just because its winter at almost 80 degrees. I honestly sweat all day and people are like hace frio.  its nuts. but cool my companion speaks zero ingles, so its really fun to try and communicate with him. especially because i describe something and he tries to tell me the name. we played yo esp (he ran out of time)

No comments:

Post a Comment